Welcome
News:
Figured some trick out with PlayOn or a Plugin? Write a guide and post it in the
[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
Guides
Forum!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Best way to watch PlayOn on pc  (Read 10429 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
TRIP
Beta Tester
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Times Thanked: 60
Posts: 1877


Its all fun till the cops show up :(

tripm0nkey420@hotmail.com tripmonkey420 tripm0nkey42o
WWW Email
« on: September 28, 2010, 11:39:46 PM »

Has anyone been able to get

m.playon.tv to work on a wireless pc/laptop?

Also is there any software, without having windows media center,installed
To be able to view PlayOn on the PC, I remember there was Tubecore, but needed windows
media center, and there is OnCore, witch I was invited to beta, but never received my beta copy.
And beta is kind of hush hush now.

My friend asked me the other day what is the best way to view PlayOn on his wireless pc.
But doesn't want to do it through media center.

So any advice would be helpful

thanks.
Logged

Dave
OS:Windows VISTA/7 x86/x64 Pro
DLNA Devices:PS3,XBOX360 SLIM ELITE/WII/Optoma TX1080/144"SCREEN
Connection:Wired/Wireless
ISP:Comcast


(Support Advice) If you would like us to do our best to help you,please include your setup info in your signature thanks
born2golf
Jr. Member
**

Times Thanked: 1
Posts: 88


« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2010, 08:50:45 AM »

I use XBMC. works great.
Logged

Windows XP Pro SP3
Xbox360, Wii, XBMC
FIOS
bbdor
Newbie
*

Times Thanked: 0
Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2010, 09:16:40 AM »

I use boxee, and also XBOX. Smiley
Logged
TRIP
Beta Tester
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Times Thanked: 60
Posts: 1877


Its all fun till the cops show up :(

tripm0nkey420@hotmail.com tripmonkey420 tripm0nkey42o
WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2010, 09:43:45 PM »

@born2golf

Where do i go in the settings to see the PlayOn server,

or is there an addon i need to make it work?
Logged

Dave
OS:Windows VISTA/7 x86/x64 Pro
DLNA Devices:PS3,XBOX360 SLIM ELITE/WII/Optoma TX1080/144"SCREEN
Connection:Wired/Wireless
ISP:Comcast


(Support Advice) If you would like us to do our best to help you,please include your setup info in your signature thanks
born2golf
Jr. Member
**

Times Thanked: 1
Posts: 88


« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2010, 04:01:14 AM »

@born2golf

Where do i go in the settings to see the PlayOn server,

or is there an addon i need to make it work?

Hi Trip, I'm not sure I understand the question. XBMC is an application you run on the PC to access the Playon via UPNP. There is nothing to setup in playon. Just install XBMC on the PC you want to view playon from, and then goto the main XBMC window and click videos. In the new screen, playon may already show up, but if not click add source, then scroll through the list to find UPNP, once you select UPNP it should then show you a list of available media servers on your network, primarily playon in this case, but will also show you tversity, Orb, windows media, etc... (I am only going my memory and I'm currently not on my playon network so I cannot test this, so if I missed a step I'm sorry in advance).

I suggest running XBMC in "windowed" mode until you get the hang of it otherwise it runs as a full screen app which may be a PIA to navigate. It wants to act as a full video console/STB, but I find it a bit wonky in that mode.

Lastly, XBMC is also a media server itself, so if you look for media content on your network from an xbox360 or PS3 you'll now see XBMC as a video source for streaming, assuming you had content on the XBMC PC and it was setup to share it. (not really relevant to your question, but cool)
Logged

Windows XP Pro SP3
Xbox360, Wii, XBMC
FIOS
born2golf
Jr. Member
**

Times Thanked: 1
Posts: 88


« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2010, 04:03:51 AM »

I use boxee, and also XBOX. Smiley

I've tinkered with boxee, but for some reason I just don't get it. Though I believe you are right that this should be able to access playon like XBMC. Separately, I'm trying to understand how the xbox is relevant to the question. can you elaborate?
Logged

Windows XP Pro SP3
Xbox360, Wii, XBMC
FIOS
TRIP
Beta Tester
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Times Thanked: 60
Posts: 1877


Its all fun till the cops show up :(

tripm0nkey420@hotmail.com tripmonkey420 tripm0nkey42o
WWW Email
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2010, 12:51:43 PM »

@ born2golf
did what you suggested on XBMC , i just had to enable sharing upnp
and then it showed up, and i added all plugins for XBMC.

when it shows up on xbox360, it shows the XBMC server.
but no titles.
Logged

Dave
OS:Windows VISTA/7 x86/x64 Pro
DLNA Devices:PS3,XBOX360 SLIM ELITE/WII/Optoma TX1080/144"SCREEN
Connection:Wired/Wireless
ISP:Comcast


(Support Advice) If you would like us to do our best to help you,please include your setup info in your signature thanks
born2golf
Jr. Member
**

Times Thanked: 1
Posts: 88


« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2010, 01:17:42 PM »

You'll have to add some local content to the XMBC library if you want to see any title in the XMBC via xbox 360. It does not relay content from playon server through the xmbc. I was only mentioned that it was also a server as an interesting bit of info.

Were you able to playon the playon server content via the XBMC on the PC at least?
Logged

Windows XP Pro SP3
Xbox360, Wii, XBMC
FIOS
TRIP
Beta Tester
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Times Thanked: 60
Posts: 1877


Its all fun till the cops show up :(

tripm0nkey420@hotmail.com tripmonkey420 tripm0nkey42o
WWW Email
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2010, 01:22:30 PM »

I have added all the plugins to XBMC, before, and i have tons of video content
 and yes playon worked through XBMC.
Logged

Dave
OS:Windows VISTA/7 x86/x64 Pro
DLNA Devices:PS3,XBOX360 SLIM ELITE/WII/Optoma TX1080/144"SCREEN
Connection:Wired/Wireless
ISP:Comcast


(Support Advice) If you would like us to do our best to help you,please include your setup info in your signature thanks
born2golf
Jr. Member
**

Times Thanked: 1
Posts: 88


« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2010, 01:44:53 PM »

OK, I think I get what you are talking about. I am not an XBMC expert, but it looks like you are trying to use XBMC as a playon type server, which I do not think it does. I don't have any xbmc plugins but I imagine they get you access to video content providers on the net like playon. And it sounds like you are then trying to access these streams from your xbox by connecting back to the XBMC app. And it is not showing anything. (Am I getting warm?)

So, what I was referring to is that you can add LOCAL media files to the XBMC library, such as photos, music or video FILES. Which can then be streamed out to the xbox360. the same was the "local files" plugin work on playon.

Does that make any more sense now or am I getting this completely wrong?
Logged

Windows XP Pro SP3
Xbox360, Wii, XBMC
FIOS
Utskier
Newbie
*

Times Thanked: 0
Posts: 5


« Reply #10 on: October 03, 2010, 03:56:45 PM »

Umm..I may have had a bit too many "adult beverages" while watching football today but...why would you need PlayOn on a PC? Isn't the idea of PlayOn to bring PC content to your Television? I would think any stream available through PlayOn would be available to an internet connected computer.

What am I missing?
Logged
TRIP
Beta Tester
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Times Thanked: 60
Posts: 1877


Its all fun till the cops show up :(

tripm0nkey420@hotmail.com tripmonkey420 tripm0nkey42o
WWW Email
« Reply #11 on: October 03, 2010, 07:51:08 PM »

Actually now Im confused myself too,

Ok lets start over, PlayOn works through XBMC. Check thats working.
XBMC shows up on XBOX360, but does not show any content, from XBMC added plugins.

Not trying to have PlayOn run through XBMC through XBOX360.

Just wanted to have XBMC able to play things on XBOX360. Smiley
Logged

Dave
OS:Windows VISTA/7 x86/x64 Pro
DLNA Devices:PS3,XBOX360 SLIM ELITE/WII/Optoma TX1080/144"SCREEN
Connection:Wired/Wireless
ISP:Comcast


(Support Advice) If you would like us to do our best to help you,please include your setup info in your signature thanks
born2golf
Jr. Member
**

Times Thanked: 1
Posts: 88


« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2010, 03:07:42 PM »

i believe you need to set up the UPnP Shares. From the main splash screen click settings, then network, then add the folders you want to share. That should do it. You may also need to configure the windows firewall to all the XBMC to stream. I'm sure you can google that to figure out which ports if needed.
Logged

Windows XP Pro SP3
Xbox360, Wii, XBMC
FIOS
Bushwacr
Sr. Member
****

Times Thanked: 11
Posts: 360



Email
« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2010, 03:34:58 PM »

Umm..I may have had a bit too many "adult beverages" while watching football today but...why would you need PlayOn on a PC? Isn't the idea of PlayOn to bring PC content to your Television? I would think any stream available through PlayOn would be available to an internet connected computer.

What am I missing?

Adult beverages good.

That's what I do. I used to run Playon through TubeCore in MediaCenter.  Now I just run it all through MC with a couple of plugins; the added advantage is the ability to pause/rewind/ff/stop and not lose anything.

Haven't opened Playon in ages.
Logged

Carpe Diem
TRIP
Beta Tester
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Times Thanked: 60
Posts: 1877


Its all fun till the cops show up :(

tripm0nkey420@hotmail.com tripmonkey420 tripm0nkey42o
WWW Email
« Reply #14 on: October 04, 2010, 05:41:56 PM »

Its for a friend, who has a computer upstairs in his room, and PlayOn the downstairs machine.
Logged

Dave
OS:Windows VISTA/7 x86/x64 Pro
DLNA Devices:PS3,XBOX360 SLIM ELITE/WII/Optoma TX1080/144"SCREEN
Connection:Wired/Wireless
ISP:Comcast


(Support Advice) If you would like us to do our best to help you,please include your setup info in your signature thanks
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: