Welcome
News:
Ditch cable and join the thousands who  roll their own TV.
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Stream pc screen and sound to tv?  (Read 3420 times)
kamakazie2

Times Thanked: 0

« on: August 03, 2010, 06:33:14 PM »

Hi Everyone, I was wondering if anyone considered making a plugin that would stream the playon pc's screen to the tv with sound.
Is this possible? With a powerful enough pc it should be able to encode on the fly. I would love to use my pc on the tv without having to run a long cable to the tv.
Thoughts?
lartomar2002
Super User

Times Thanked: 12

Email
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2010, 07:28:59 PM »

i'm not sure why you would want to do that since playon is not a media player but a media server. if i understand you correctly, you want to stream the playon gui to your tv? and as for video or sound i have never had playon stream (or play?) on my computer but then, i'm not a techie either.

Cpu: Intel Core i3 2.93Ghz DDR3 SDRAM 6 Gb Ram
Router: Netgear WNR 2000v2
Network: Wired (cat5e)
TV: Vizio SV472XVT
AVR: Bose V35 Lifestyle HTS
Dlna Devices:WDTV Live HD (WDLXTV), Ouya (XBMC) PS 3 160gb, Directv HR24-500
ISP: Road Runner 20Mbps DL 2.0Mbp (Wired)
avalien
Keeper of Happy Thoughts
Global Moderator

Times Thanked: 90

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2010, 09:40:02 PM »

kamakazie2 - VLC supports desktop streaming with NO sound. This would need to built directly into the PlayOn software or 3rd party tool would need to be used to create the desktop to a media file or stream it as MMS stream. In my findings I did see a pay software package that might be able to stream the desktop in MMS format. So, it is possible. But it will cost you monies or you will need to wait until PlayOn includes it.

"The content is out there Fox Mulder"
"Your living room just got larger"
yourcaptain

Times Thanked: 3

« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2010, 04:02:38 AM »