Welcome
News:
Got a suggestion for a site?  Post it in the
[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
Suggestions
Forum!
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: playon working with the roku  (Read 20591 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
just4fn
Newbie
*

Times Thanked: 0
Posts: 13


« on: January 14, 2010, 03:36:41 PM »

Anybody out there working on putting Playon on the Roku box yet?  How close it this to being a reality?
Logged
JamesMMurphy
Super User
Hero Member
***

Times Thanked: 12
Posts: 513


Murph


WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2010, 01:18:59 PM »

Sell the Roku Box and get a VuNow box everything works!
Murph Cool
Don't Ya' Just Love it when people post this kind of stuff???
Logged

OS: Windows 7 Home Pro (64bit)
Connection: Wired 27.01Mbps UpLoad 0.93
DLNA Devices: VuNow Pod
ISP: Road Runner Cable

[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
-------------------------------------------------
Go To:
[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
AllanB
Developer Tier 2
Sr. Member
*****

Times Thanked: 45
Posts: 366


Quiet is my companion


WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2010, 02:47:25 PM »

Does the VuNow support wireless?
Logged

OS: XP Pro 32bit
Connection:  Wireless
DLNA:  PS3

Christi crux est mea lux
jeepsterryan
Newbie
*

Times Thanked: 0
Posts: 4


Email
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2010, 08:15:34 PM »

It comes with a separate wireless usb adaptor, but it is included in the price.  I have the netgear EVA2000 which is the VuNow box with Netgear plastic around it.  It works well.
Logged
JamesMMurphy
Super User
Hero Member
***

Times Thanked: 12
Posts: 513


Murph


WWW Email
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2010, 10:24:12 AM »

Yes, Big Time!  It comes with a USB Wireless Stick that covers the Newest Wireless formats... Works Damn Good too!
Of course all of these wireless devices are subject to your local environment so if 4 of your neighbors fire up their wireless routers on your frequency then bandwidth will suffer as with any wireless device.  It also offers a hard wired Cat 5/6 connetion as well for this very reason.
If any of you guys want to resell this unit or buy one direct you can contact the
factory rep at:
Dhaval Ajmera
Executive VP
Verismo Networks
Cell - 510-366-1995
dajmera@verismonetworks.com

PUH...LEEZZ Tell him I sent you and if any of you are interested in writing plugins or scripts for his company this is
the guy to talk to as well. 
Murph Cool


Does the VuNow support wireless?
Logged

OS: Windows 7 Home Pro (64bit)
Connection: Wired 27.01Mbps UpLoad 0.93
DLNA Devices: VuNow Pod
ISP: Road Runner Cable

[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
-------------------------------------------------
Go To:
[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
kumasuki
Newbie
*

Times Thanked: 0
Posts: 2


Email
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2010, 03:02:29 PM »

Anybody out there working on putting Playon on the Roku box yet?  How close it this to being a reality?

The wait is OVER - a PlayOn channel has been developed for the Roku !!!!
It is still in the developmental stage - so, it can only be added as a private channel (code provided below).
I have installed it on my Roku and even for beta-software it is running very well with the current version of PLayOn on my 64-bit Vista box - no major problems so far anyways.

Here are the release note and channel code (ENJOY!!):

PlayOn recently updated its iOS hls streams to use Roku compatiable audio, that means that PlayOn streams now work on the roku.

Before I give out out the code, a few notes:

1) The channel is very very very very very rough around the edges. It is based on one of my first experiements into brightscript that I cleaned up quickly now that Playon changed their hls streams. Please consider this channel alpha quality.
2) Server discovery is slow, but once it discovers teh server, the IP address is saved and you shouldn't have to wait again.
3) This is based on the latest PlayOn Software (3.0.19 released 9/28/2010). Please ensure that this version is insalled. Note that Playon has changed the interface this channel is using with nearly every release for the last few months. That means that if you upgrade past this version, there is a good chance something will no longer work.
4) This channel is based on PlayOn's HTTP iOS interface. They just recently got approved for an app in the app store, so I have no idea if they will maintain this interface.

What Works:
1) Server Discovery: As mentioned above, it is slow, but it works. Please note that only 1 Playon server is supported. If you are running multiple on your network, it will only link up to one
2) Hulu: Tested a couple of shows
3) Tv.com: watched the pilot of "$!# my dad says" last night
4) My videos: watched a few short clips of some videos I have on my computer. Both mkv's, one in HD. Both worked.
5) ESPN3: I watched part of a soccer game last night < 3 minutes. Worked fine

What doesn't work:
1) Missing Icons: Between the top level and the bottom episode level, there aren't any icons being displayed. I plan on creating some generic icons
2) CNN: this content seemed to cut off after a few minutes. Not sure what is going on.
3) Occasionally a video would rebuffer within the first 30 or so seconds of starting. After the first rebuffer it seemed to work fine.

That's all I've gotten to test so far. If you have any problems, please post in the thread and I will try to address them. Note that I have a busy work day today and I not likely be able to address any issues till tonight or tomorrow at the earliest.

UPDATES:

9/30 2:30pm: THERE IS A BUG IN THE CURRENT VERSION...HOLD ON
9/30 2:40pm: The bug (selecting top level categories bounces you back to the roku home menu) should now be fixed. Please go to the channel store to update the channel.

And now that you've been sufficiently warned/informed:

[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
Logged
avalien
Keeper of Happy Thoughts
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Times Thanked: 90
Posts: 1145



« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2010, 05:40:58 PM »

Good post - hopefully somoene else can confirm this working. Roku users can now get more out of there investment.
Logged

"The content is out there Fox Mulder"
"Your living room just got larger"
y0himba
Super User
Full Member
***

Times Thanked: 6
Posts: 116


105611 yohimba@zoominternet.net y0himba y0himba
WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2010, 09:34:00 AM »

kumaski:  Do you have a web site for the channel?  How do we know this is legit?  I appreciate your work, but in today's day and age folks need to be cautious.
Logged

Heavily Modified Dell Inspiron 530
Intel Q6600 Quad Core
4GB DDR 800
15MB Cable
2TB HDD Raid 0
DLink DIR-655 108.11n
nVidia GeForce GTS 250
2 Roku boxes, PS3, PVR, 3 desktops, 2 laptops and a Kindle.
And a Partridge in a pear treeeee....
y0himba
Super User
Full Member
***

Times Thanked: 6
Posts: 116


105611 yohimba@zoominternet.net y0himba y0himba
WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2010, 09:34:51 AM »

Sorry for the double post but editing ahs been disabled.  If you can interface PlayOn with the Roku, how about 'Orb'?
Logged

Heavily Modified Dell Inspiron 530
Intel Q6600 Quad Core
4GB DDR 800
15MB Cable
2TB HDD Raid 0
DLink DIR-655 108.11n
nVidia GeForce GTS 250
2 Roku boxes, PS3, PVR, 3 desktops, 2 laptops and a Kindle.
And a Partridge in a pear treeeee....
avalien
Keeper of Happy Thoughts
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Times Thanked: 90
Posts: 1145



« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2010, 12:03:58 PM »

Looks Legit:


[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
http://forums.roku.com/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=32597



[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
http://www.playon.tv/forum/general/general-discussion-amp-inquiries/roku-and-playon


Appears people have it working - some with issues, others with server problems (not having enough juice to transcode). Some posted commercial problems.

Logged

"The content is out there Fox Mulder"
"Your living room just got larger"
y0himba
Super User
Full Member
***

Times Thanked: 6
Posts: 116


105611 yohimba@zoominternet.net y0himba y0himba
WWW
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2010, 05:26:41 PM »

I was able to watch quite a few episodes of 'Sliders on Hulu, and the LOCAL FILES works for video! Music just kicks you back to the home screen.
Logged

Heavily Modified Dell Inspiron 530
Intel Q6600 Quad Core
4GB DDR 800
15MB Cable
2TB HDD Raid 0
DLink DIR-655 108.11n
nVidia GeForce GTS 250
2 Roku boxes, PS3, PVR, 3 desktops, 2 laptops and a Kindle.
And a Partridge in a pear treeeee....
robertf57
Newbie
*

Times Thanked: 0
Posts: 2


« Reply #11 on: October 06, 2010, 10:49:01 AM »

I have been using the beta channel for several days and Hulu works great.  I can't get music to work.
Logged
scyber
Newbie
*

Times Thanked: 2
Posts: 2


« Reply #12 on: October 07, 2010, 07:06:52 PM »

    Hi, I'm the developer of this Roku Channel and I just wanted to let you know I just updated the channel.  The Roku forum thread has been updated, but I figured I'd post the changes here too:


[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login

NOTE that you should now use the vanity url above to install the channel.   I"m not 100% sure, but you may need to remove the existing channel from your box manually and install from the new url above.  Please let me know if your channel is automatically updated.  I know this is a pain, and I apologize, but I was unaware with how the other codes can change with Roku's publishing system.  The vanity code will remain constant.

I have published the new version with the following features:
  • Settings/Config screen[list
    • Allow iphone/ipad (low/high bitrate) stream selection: This appears to work and "should" produce less load on some machines.
    • Allow deletion of cached PlayOn IP address:  This will automatically initiate the server search again.   Useful if your PlayOn Computer switches IPs
  • Catch empty xml error (aka ESPN3 Live Bug)
  • "Loading..." message while loading XML
  • Default folder icons
  • Error/existence checking for field display (aka CBS NCIS error)
  • General Cleanup of some of the code:  It should be a bit more robust
Logged
bneville
Newbie
*

Times Thanked: 0
Posts: 2


Email
« Reply #13 on: October 28, 2010, 06:27:00 PM »

This works flawlessly with my ROKU!
Even better than it does with my NETGEAR Digital Entertainer.
Thank you
Logged
bneville
Newbie
*

Times Thanked: 0
Posts: 2


Email
« Reply #14 on: October 28, 2010, 06:43:25 PM »

Have you done any playing with the guys doing the kylo browser ... that would really be great on the roku and/or playon server!
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to: